Tantra Magazine“Contemplation is of three kinds: common,
light and subtle. When contemplating a certain figure, such as a guru or a
certain God, we are dealing with common contemplation. When Brahma or the
Principle of Nature is contemplated as light we are dealing with the subtle
contemplation. This last type of contemplation can make us eternal.”

Gheranda Samhita

Tantric texts offer detailed explanations about the
psychic centers (centers of force) – chakras,
meaning “wheels”, situated in the sacral area, the area of the
genitalia, the navel, the heart, the neck, the forehead and respectively the




The sacral chakra


The chakra of the genitalia



The chakra of the navel


The chakra of the heart


The chakra of the throat



The chakra of the forehead


The chakra of the crown


Tantra MagazineThese Chakras do not exist in the physical body, they represent
mere “plasma fields” of subtle energy vibrating on specific
frequencies, with different shapes, sounds and colors.

Esoteric and occult Westal literature provides many descriptions of these centers. Most of these descriptions rely on C.W. Leadbeater’s works, of the
Theological Society. Other depictions derive from Sir John Wooddroffe’s
work (an English judge who lived in India for a period and
translated some of the most important Tantric

Unfortunately, due to some errors, many contemporary works on this issue, (i.e.
the subtle body and the existence of chakras) are
wrong, often diverging in their main aspects from the concise and objective
descriptions given in numerous Yogic and Tantric ancient

The most important aspect of the Subtle body and Chakra system is the Yin-Yang (solar – lunar) symbolism and
the placement of macro cosmic energies. Thus the “Moon” is situated in
the head and the “Sun” in the center of the navel.

Tantra MagazineAncient Tantric
texts refer to the existence of four main chakras
(situated in the area of the navel, heart, neck and head respectively). Each chakra is made up of a number of petals, symbolizing the
natural color of that chakra.

The navel center is described as a lotus with ten petals oriented upwards. The
heart center is depicted as a lotus oriented downwards with twelve petals; the
neck chakra has got sixteen petals and is oriented upwards;
the forehead chakra has ninety-six petals. This is a
very simple vision of the Subtle Body.

Centers. situated below the navel are also described
in these works. They are situated in the area of the genitalia and the sacrum,
and are traditionally considered as being of a more physical nature than a
subtle one.

According to traditional sources, the subtle center which is situated in the
area of the sacrum has got four petals oriented upwards; the sexual chakra has got six petals oriented downwards. Tantric texts say that each of the four petals of the first
center can be divided into three thus making twelve petals.

Tantra MagazineMeditating on the
Subtle Body which is made up of these psychic centers.
helps one to perceive the subtle flow of energy through the organism. For
instance, Kundalini Yoga implies directing the sexual
energy from the lower chakras to the superior ones,
in order to accomplish the complete union with Shiva who is situated in the
crown Chakra.

The simplest meditation upon the Subtle Centers. is
that of picturing an opened lotus flower in each center situated in the area of
the navel, heart and neck.

“The Subtle Body connects this universe to subtle universes. No
object or doctrine equals in importance to teachings about
the Subtle Body – the door opened towards Ultimate Freedom.”

Kaula Tantra